Artist of the Week – Robson Borges aka robsonborges

With his vibrant and vivid pieces that are just absolutely breathtaking, it was easy for the 9 Fountains team to choose Robson Borges’ submission “Intuitive” to the January 2012 contest as a the 2nd Runner-Up. This artist artfully mixes textured backgrounds with detailed and colourful sketches. We caught up with him for a chat:

9F: First of all, please tell us how you feel about being an Editor’s Choice for this contest?

RB: I’m always happy to have selected designs in competitions. This is food for my creativity and gives me motivation to keep trying.

9F: Please tell us a little bit more about yourself. (i.e What is your real name? Where are you from? How old are you? etc.)

RB: My name is Robson Borges, a freelance illustrator from Sao Paulo Brazil. I´m 32 years old and love nature, rock and roll, street art and my family.

9F: Please tell us about your design background. (i.e Where did you study? What did you study? Where are you working now? etc.)

RB: Drawing has always been my greatest passion, but I do not have diplomas. I worked as a motion designer in large advertising agencies, did some important work for clients such as Nokia, Toyota, Natura, etc.. Lately I’m dedicating only illustration.

9F: Tell us a bit more about your creation. Who or what inspired you to create this winning design?

RB: This project was intuitive, hence the title. There was nothing planned, just started some traits in photoshop and the art flowed alone. I love abstract things.

9F: What techniques/media did you use to create this artwork?

RB: Just Photoshop. 🙂

9F: What is your design philosophy?

RB: Create art for yourself and be free.

9F: Who is your favourite artist, and why?

RB: Some artists kill me with envy because they found a unique, universal and innovative style. Salvador Dalí with his surreal concepts, “The Twins” with its colors and unique characters, and I love the work of many illustrators, but I’d rather not mention. There are many!

9F: Sum up your personal design style in 3 words.

RB: Simple organic mine

You can check out more of Robson’s work at the following links:

www.robsonborges.com / www.flickr.com/robsonborges

Tee of the Week – Intuitive by robsonborges

This design titled “intuitive” is self explanatory. The artist just let his creative juices flow and we have to say it looks pretty darn good! This is our tee of the week and is going for only $30.00 (Usual $49.00).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment